1_dsc_7339

I’m very fortunate to be able to enjoy the sensations of Venezia for a few more months. This Carnevale will be my first, and so, I figure, do as much as I can, while I can. It’s the same mantra I have for life. Some words to describe how I feel about this lagoon città: magical, mesmerizing, dreamy, challenging at times, welcoming at others. It’s a city held together by a foundation of mud, silt, and trees, a network of bridges, and a mosaic of palazzos and chiese (palaces and churches), along with an emporium of goods, and, of course, massive tourism.

img_7599
Piazza San Marco with its Basilica

As I trudge along the pathways and alleyways composed of centuries-old stone, moving quickly past the crush of tourists on my way to the library, I’m struck by the way the colors and sounds have a sort of unique frequency that can’t be found anywhere else. I’ve tried to capture some of that Venetian frequency in my video of an a capella group singing outside of the library I happened to be working at this weekend. I think they were all in masks, too. Nice touch.

I hope to share more videos of Venezia in the coming weeks, especially during Carnevale.

All words and images ©Sophia Quach McCabe.

 

 

Leave a Reply

