Pulled pork, I hear, is one of the easiest dishes to make in a slow cooker. I hadn’t found the right rub until now. It’s only when you don’t have all the ingredients on hand for a recipe does the magic happen. At least for me. When I follow instructions too closely, the end result is typically disappointing. That’s probably the mantra for my own life.

Alora, good thing I didn’t have chili powder or cumin for CHOW’s recipe. Instead, I used red pepper flakes (maybe a smidge less than the recommended 1TBSP for chili powder) and smoked paprika for cumin. I added slightly more kosher salt than the recipe asked for, and reduced the amount of brown sugar by half. After combining all the spices in a small bowl, I rubbed the mixture all over the pork. Then I placed the big hunk of meat gingerly on top of the sliced onions, garlic, and chicken broth already in the slow cooker. 

I think the key to slow cooker cooking is knowing if your slow cooker is accurate or not. Mine cooks faster than it should (something I’ve learned the hard way) so I always adjust for a longer cooking time. Here, I set the time at 8 hours, checked it at 6-1/2 hours, and it was perfect. 

When I came home, upon opening the door, the tantalizing smell of pork simmering in its own juices with cooked onions and garlic welcomed me back. Oh, it was so good. I daresay it was one of my best efforts with the slow cooker. 

Now is pulled pork part of my diet plan? It may not be the healthiest thing I’ve eaten this week, but hey, I cut out some of the brown sugar so that’s got to count, I think. All I know is that this pulled pork is delicious. Another mantra for me this week is: take it easy on yourself.

Leave a Reply

