After writing about King Ludwig I of Bavaria and his architectural interest in the Italian Renaissance — so much so that he demanded his architects Leo von Klenze and Friedrich von Gärtner to design a Florentine street in Munich, the Ludwigstraße, complete with palazzo-style buildings and monuments that were modeled after Florence’s Palazzo Pitti, Loggia dei Lanzi, and others — I’ve been thinking more and more about Italy and la dolce vita.

Leo von Klenze, Residenz façade, 1826-1842. Munich. (Photo from http://www.destination-munich.com)
Palazzo Pitti, c. 1458. Florence.
Friedrich von Gärtner, Feldherrnhalle, 1841-1844. Munich.
Loggia dei Lanzi, 1376-1382. Florence.

Luckily, NY Times has provided some insight into a walking tour of gelaterias in Rome. (Note bene: The NYT article is from 1984, so check that the shops are still open. My favorite, Della Palma, is a mainstay in Rome.) I’ve learned that one can eat 2 scoops of gelato everyday in the Eternal City and still lose weight! Mi piace Roma.

As I said, Gelateria Della Palma is my top choice. Perhaps because it has 150 flavors, perhaps because it’s near the Pantheon, but for 2 Euro for due gusti, the price is also pretty great. Go at night, wait in line with locals and tourists, make eye contact with the gelato-rista (now, I’m just making up words), and then order after tasting a few flavors. Baci and pistachio gelato in hand, I’d walk a few steps to the Pantheon and enjoy gelato under the tungsten-lit splendor of ancient Roma. http://www.dellapalma.it/en/

Gelato, via lonelyplanet.com
Pantheon, 118-125 CE. (Photo © Sophia Quach.)
2 thoughts on “Italian Renaissance architecture, ancient architecture and gelato

  1. Decided to say maintain the great job! I’m really loving the theme/design in your site. Does one face any web browser compatibility issues? A couple of my blog readers have were unsatisfied with my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Will there be any ideas that will help fix this problem? I’m curious
    to see what blog platform you’re utilizing? I’m having some small
    security problems with my latest site and I’d wish to find something more risk-free. Can there be any solutions? Hmm it appears just as if your website ate my first comment (it ended up super long) i absolutely guess I’ll just
    sum it up whatever i had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your website site. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still
    a new comer to everything. Perhaps there is any recommendations for first-time blog owners?
    I’d definitely appreciate it. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme on this website.

    It is relatively simple, yet effective. Very often it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance.

    1. Thanks so much for the note. I try to keep the design simple, and fortunately, WordPress contains many simplified templates. As for browsers, I use Firefox and Chrome, and don’t see any issues with either. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

